I’m back.

Don’t ask me how it came to be that I would not write for so long. I guess that once I got out of the routine of a daily post, I was afraid to start up again until I knew that I would be able to stay on track.

And I am floored. Really. That you precious friends would continue to check out a blog that had no new posts for over a month. Thanks for your encouragement to GET WRITING!

Soooo much has happened. And so much IS happening. Where do I begin?

Today I was back at the infectious disease hospital visiting four little teeny-weenies…all of them under four months old. And all are orphans. Either because the parents aren’t living, or because the parents cannot or will not provide for them.

My friend Edna and I arrived in time to feed them…so that they weren’t drinking from propped bottles. Unfortunately that is the only way to efficiently feed children in this setting. Normally a parent who is staying with the hospitalized child actually feeds them. And hugs them. And rocks them.

It is such a privilege to be able to be substitute arms. To hold them. To feed them. To burp them. To snuggle them. To talk to them. To pray for them. And to rock them to sleep.

What a great afternoon.

Comments

  1. Yea! My wife is back. I love her writing. I am hopelessly allergic. I am glad to be at home after a week with a medical team in Lutsk.

  2. jjpmd: Glad to have you home. And I’m glad you are hopelessly allergic to my writing.

  3. Glad your back. I’ve missed your writing too πŸ™‚

  4. Nikki: Thanks. I enjoy keeping up with your blog as well!

  5. Glad you’re back! Sounds like you had a good afternoon at the office.

  6. Holding the babies today was such a blessing. I haven’t stopped thinking about them since we left today. I am really looking forward to going back with you.

    And I am also glad you are back to blogging! πŸ™‚

    Edna

  7. I’m so glad your back.

  8. TG, Edna, Ann: Thanks for your encouragement! And, Edna, thanks so much for going with me to the hospital. NEXT visit we’ll get pictures!

  9. Hey girl! You HAVE to get me in there to see those babies on my next visit!! (Notice I didn’t say ‘if I visit again…’ How’s that for faith? πŸ˜‰

  10. Cheryl: I LOVE knowing that you’ll be back! I believe that Melanie is going to go with me next week…

Leave a comment