Contentment

Charles Spurgeon quotes the apostle Paul: “I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

He goes on to say, “These words show us that contentment is not a natural propensity of man. ‘Ill weeds grow apace.’ Covetousness, discontent, and murmuring are as natural to man as thorns are to the soil. We need not sow thistles and brambles; they come up naturally enough because they are indigenous to earth: and so, we need not teach men to complain; they complain fast enough without any education. But the precious things of the earth must be cultivated. If we would have wheat, we must plow and sow; if we want flowers, there must be the garden with all the gardener’s care. Now, contentment is one of the flowers of heaven, and if we would have it, it must be cultivated; it will not grow in us by nature. It is the new nature alone that can produce it, and even then we must be specially careful and watchful that we maintain and cultivate the grace which God has sown in us. Paul says, ‘I have learned … to be content,’ as much as to say, he did not know how at one time.”

Comments

  1. I never thought of it that way. I’ve heard sermons from Leonard Ravenhill and others who spoke highly of C. Spurgeon, but I do not recollect ever reading anything of his. I love this. Thanks.

  2. Great quote! I’m posting it on my blog. Thanks!

Leave a comment