Bone decay

I am part of an online Bible study group called Good Morning Girls. Hundreds of groups have been formed around the world with the purpose of holding each other accountable for daily Scripture reading/study, encouragement, and prayer. I love the format: S O A P. We write out the scripture verse, post observations, applications personally, and pray. We only read a verse or two each day, so, honestly, anyone can be part of it. If she wants to be.

This summer we are looking at Proverbs 31. Ouch, right?! Many of us do not even WANT to closely look at the attributes of this woman…we already feel guilty enough by simply comparing ourselves to those around us. (Not a good idea, by the way.) Using the Proverbs 31 woman as our standard…forget it! I’m wondering whether some of us just simply don’t WANT to change those habits we know are unbecoming…so we dismiss the Proverbs 31 woman so that we are not convicted by the Spirit. And, anyway, she’s not real, and nobody’s perfect. And life goes on.

I would encourage you to stop and consider the words of King Lemuel’s mother as she counsels him about what characteristics to look for in a wife.

Today our verses were Proverbs 31:10 — you know, the one where we see that the noble wife is rare and she’s far more worthy than rubies. Hmmm, not sure that I’ll be able to attain that lofty goal.

The second verse today: Proverbs 12:4: “A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown, but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones.” Oh my. Sooo, if I am not striving to be his crown, am I unwittingly causing decay in his bones?

Bone decay. Gradual. Almost imperceptible. Weakening from within until the bone snaps. Or disintegrates. Broken. It’s impossible to restore decayed bone to its former strength, but it can be rebuilt somewhat. We can stop any further decay.

I often refer to some wives as her husband’s secret weapon. Quietly supportive. Encouraging. Building up.

I don’t know about you, but I do not want to be tearing down, causing bone decay, when I could be intentionally building up. Not so much so that I can be the crown, but so that my husband can be all that he was designed to be.

Lord, reveal to me specifically where I may be causing bone decay…not just in my husband’s life, but in the lives of those around me.

(If you’d like to join me in this study, please send me a friend request on facebook and I’ll add you to my small group. And please check out the Good Morning Girls site for more information: http://www.goodmorninggirls.org)

Leave a Reply

