Explosion

Soooo, the other day I was minding my own business…sitting on the couch trying to figure out how to watch a TV show on my computer. Jim was coming in as soon as I knew how to make it work…he was busy with more important duties…

And then POP! It sounded like a champagne cork suddenly freed from the bottle. But as I looked straight ahead I saw a wave of black water gushing forth from under the radiator. I called Jim for help and quickly moved everything out of the way of this miniature tsunami (is that even a possibility?!). Jim threw towels down and he began to try to figure out from where the water was leaking. Ugh!

The radiators in this room are no longer turned on because this room gets so warm in the winter that we end up opening windows. Crazy, I know. So, there should have been no water running through the pipes.

Thankfully the black water gave way to clear water after a time, and the flow was reduced to a steady trickle fairly quickly. We put a dish under the radiator through the night and emptied it just once before the water stopped altogether.

Even if I had had the camera sitting in my lap, I wouldn’t have been able to capture the initial outpouring of water — every second counted at that point. But I did take one picture, just for the record.

Thankful that we were both home and awake at the time…it could have been a disaster.

Never a dull moment.

Leave a Reply

