Chicken pox

I remember when our children were little and all three had chicken pox…one December. I treated them much like my mother had treated all of us. The key, of course, was to keep them from scratching the blisters. We put a small bowl of cotton balls in the center of a table, and whenever they wanted to scratch they would instead dab calamine lotion. Kept them busy and prevented excessive scratching. Yes, my children were rather pink for awhile.

Here in Ukraine…well, the color of choice is green.

Comments

  1. THAT’S what that is! In RR profile pics, the kids will occasionally have those same green splotches (and often a few from the same orphanage). I have always wondered WHAT they had on their faces. It looked like green marker, but that didn’t really make sense.

    That baby looks so sad. 😦 😦 😦 I was old enough to remember the chicken pox… so miserable.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. lorinda says:

    I will never forget the first time I saw a green-polka-dotted little girl with chicken pox in Russia! I could not figure out who had done that to her and why! πŸ˜€ Since then, I have had the green stuff applied to my own skin and to my kids’ skin. πŸ™‚ Danielle had it on her stitches that she got on Christmas Eve one year. Thomas had to photoshop our family Christmas pictures to remove the big green blotch on her forehead. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

