Adopted for Life

Though I had started this book while in the States, I had not finished it before we hit the ground running in Ukraine this year. It’s been crazy! (And I wouldn’t change one minute of the craziness…)

So I picked it up again (and some others as well…) and started at the beginning once again. Oh, my. I’m already totally drawn back into it.

Adopted for Life: The Priority of Adoption for Christian Families & Churches by Russell D. Moore. Throughout the first chapter he explains why he has written this book and why you need to read it, whether you want to or not. He takes away excuses for the Christian’s lack of action in the adoption arena…though not are all called to adopt, we all can respond to the plight of the orphan.

He ends the first chapter: “This book isn’t, first of all, a theological treatise on adoption in the abstract, although I hope it helps some of us to see how adoption pictures something true about our God and his ways. This book isn’t primarily a book about the practical joys and challenges of adopting children, although I hope it helps many more moms and dads to know firsthand something of why I am wiping away tears as I type this right now. Ultimately, this book isn’t really about adoption at all. It’s just what my son Timothy probably would tell you it is about, if you asked him. It’s about Jesus.”

Being involved in the process of adoption is amazing. I have had the privilege to know many families who have adopted children here in Ukraine. I have been on the emotional roller coaster with them and have rejoiced with them at the news that the judge said YES. I have helped place specific children in families and know the thrill of realizing that God used even me to impact someone’s life for eternity.

Continue to pray for these families. Every one of them has a unique story. And every one is tested in some way through the process. It’s rarely easy. Maybe even fair to say that it’s NEVER easy. But the rewards are priceless.

Comments

  1. Lisa Hendrickson says:

    What and where does your church meet?

  2. Church of the Holy Trinity. In the center of town.

  3. i have yet to get a copy and read this!! so looking forward to it. xo

Leave a Reply

