Grace abounding

Jim and I are working through John Bunyan’s autobiography: Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners. He spent years thinking that he had sinned the unpardonable sin and though he would feel relief from time to time, these times were extremely short when compared to his times of despair. Some morning I just pray that it will be a good day for John Bunyan.

At one point he wrote:

Now was I as one awaked out of some troublesome sleep and dream; and listening to this heavenly sentence, I was as if I had heard it thus expounded to me: Sinner, thou thinkest, that because thy sins and infirmities, I cannot save thy soul; but behold My Son is by me, and upon Him I look, and not on thee, and shall deal with thee according as I am pleased with Him. At this I was greatly lightened in my mind, and made to understand, that God could justify a sinner at any time; it was but His looking upon Christ, and imputing His benefits to us, and the work was forthwith done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

