1-1-11

For whatever reason, when I look at today’s date all I can think of is “first things first.” First things first.

So, prioritizing my day, and putting first things first means that I need to have my daily Bible reading plan in place. I know that if I don’t commit to a certain plan, whatever that plan might be, everything else in my life will prevent me from blocking specific time to read. First things first.

A sweet friend posted a link to a site that might be helpful to you if you are also looking for a plan: http://www.biblestudytools.com/bible-reading-plan/ . I’m going for the chronological plan this year. (Thanks for posting, Hannah!)

Jim and I read through the Bible this past year, out loud each morning, using a fabulous devotional by D.A. Carson, For the Love of God. I can highly recommend this book. We’ve also used a John Stott devotional, but it didn’t actually have you read the entire Bible. The devotionals certainly help me take the reading to a deeper level. This year we’re using a variety of devotionals that are not tied in to a Bible-in-a-year plan. Looking forward to praising God with the Puritans and others as we look at their writings each day.

Getting my days in order.

Have YOU come up with a plan?

First things first.

Comments

  1. happy new year! praying for you!

  2. June Klaassen says:

    Happy New Year! I am Leslie Farrington’s mother, and live in Oklahoma City.

    I drop in on a fairly periodic basis and today found the Bible Study Tools Bible Reading in one year. I have been wanting to read the entire Bible one year and knew I would need a schedule to follow…..thank you for the info you posted regarding Bible Study Tools.

    I enjoy your blog very much–such a blessing, and then I thank God and Dr. Peipon for bringing our three precious grandsons into our lives. We love them very much.

    Blessings,

    June Klaassen

Trackbacks

  1. […] 1-1-11 (first things first) Ukraine […]

Leave a Reply

