Happy birthday, Taras Shevchenko!

Today during my Ukrainian lesson I learned that this is Taras Shevchenko’s birthday! My student-mate keeps me up to date (thanks, Doug!) and our teacher had a short text today about the life of this famous Ukrainian poet/artist.

And, thanks again to Doug, I am linking to a site that gives details of this man’s life. He is a true Ukrainian hero. Here in Kyiv, our church meets on Shevchenko Boulevard, one of the finest universities in Ukraine is named for him, and his face adorns many a poster about Ukraine.

I encourage you to take a few minutes to learn more about him and, therefore, more about Ukraine.

Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

