Words or actions?

“When God finds us so puffed up that we do not feel our need for him, it is an act of kindness on his part to take us down a peg or two; it would be an act of judgment to leave us in our vaulting self-esteem.”

D. A. Carson, A Call to Spiritual Reformation

How many of us would actually consider it an act of kindness to be taken down a peg or two? Ouch!

These words were written in a chapter expounding on several excuses that people give for not praying. Of course, none of us would actually say that we didn’t need God. Or his guidance. We wouldn’t say that we don’t need to pray. But our actions speak louder than our words.

Lord, keep us on our knees.

Comments

  1. Absolutely! God is so faithful to do the work in us necessary! I pity the instruments (usually my friends and family that I love dearly!) that seemed to be used in this work of humbling me, but I hope I always say “bring it on, Lord!” because I fear the day He would stop doing that work in me this side of heaven…may it never come! Love your blogs, always, Marianna, keep it up! Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

