Masks or respirators?

I’ve been seeing lots of surgical masks and other makeshift masks out and about in Kyiv these days. The flu panic is not in full-swing in Kyiv as it is in western Ukraine, but I’m sure that it’s just a matter of time.

My friend Greg posted this interesting link on facebook and I thought it might be helpful to pass it on.

I’m not sure that mask-wearers understand the purpose of what they’re wearing. Are they trying to protect THEMSELVES from others who might have the flu, or is he trying to prevent HIMSELF from passing on his own germs. It makes a difference.

Personally I’m thankful that so many people are wearing masks or scrunched down into their turtlenecks or wrapped up in scarves: It surely helps prevent THEIR germs from passing directly to me!

Comments

  1. I’m not sure about the whole mask thing. Maybe medical masks are okay but homemade masks? Scarves? All I see on the street are people touching their masks and scarves, ie NOSE and MOUTH which is what they are not supposed to be touching. This whole thing is CREEPY!

Leave a Reply

