Friday in Glendale

Okay, I’ve taken a bit of time away from the blog (and the travel diary) to work on our newsletter and a few other time-consuming projects. But I’m ready to start again…with Friday in Glendale.

Jim and I met Michelle for lunch at Bob Evans Restaurant. Michelle has been to Ukraine a couple of times and has a huge heart for the children and also the parents of children with disabilities. She herself has two autistic sons and she understands firsthand the importance of parent-support groups. She hopes to return to Ukraine at least once a year to further encourage these parents.

Michelle needed to get back to work and we needed to head home to be sure that everyone was getting ready for the big wedding that evening. The ceremony took place in a beautiful Presbyterian church in downtown Cincinnati and the reception was just a short walk away at the Cincinnati Club.

This was definitely a wedding that I didn’t want to miss. I have known the bride since she was born. And though our families don’t see each other nearly often enough, when we DO get together we just pick up where we left off.

I’m not quite sure how to describe the wedding and reception other than to say that it was truly a celebration of love. It was so obvious that everyone there loved this young couple, and therefore everyone cared for each other. We all had our stories of our connection to the bride and/or groom. Seats at the reception were assigned and it was apparent that much thought had gone into the groupings. I felt like I had known our new acquaintances forever!

I was so pleased to see that Mom decided to wear her red sequins and chiffon dress — she looked like a million bucks and the bride and her family loved that she came. (She had threatened to not attend because she didn’t want to be a bother to anyone. Give me a break…)
Mom and Chris
Kolya and Jeanne had only been in the country for 48 hours at this point. I was impressed at their stamina — no time for jetlag. Kolya looked so sharp in his traditional Ukrainian shirt.
Alex, Kolya, Jeanne, Martha
I’ve been trying to think back and I think that this might be the first American wedding that I’ve attended since we moved here in 2001. Thanks for including us in your big day. It was more than a delight to be in attendance.

Comments

  1. I remember a great wedding on the banks of mighty Wicomico! Ben and Linea Taylor’s wedding was the most beautiful outdoor wedding I had ever been to. God provided such a spectacular sunset.

  2. jjpmd: That it was!

Leave a Reply

