Sadness

Please join me in prayer for a young woman who was due to deliver her first child next month. At a routine exam yesterday, the doctor could no longer hear a heartbeat…and labor was being induced last night.

Her mother, one of my dearest friends, flew in from out-of-state to be with her though her father was stuck out-of-state…business. And another dear friend of ours drove 3 hours to be a support to them both. Tears are falling on both sides of the Atlantic.

Lord, we know that this does not catch You by surprise, but it has certainly set many of us back on our heels. Please hold this family close to You comforting them as only You can.

Comments

  1. I am so, so sorry.

    A friend of mine walked through something similar with her firstborn, a daughter who died in the womb full term.

    She shares some of her journey here. . . may you find encouragement from her experiences as you mourn with, pray for, minister to your friend.

    http://www.drslewis.org/camille/2001/07/09/elises-birth-story/

    http://www.drslewis.org/camille/2008/02/12/here-i-raise-my-ebenezer-1/

  2. TulipGirl: Thank you for these links…

  3. Marianna~ I am so sorry for your friend and the loss of her baby. I had a similar experience a few years ago, but not full term. I was only 3 mos along and went in for an ultrasound and heartbeat had stopped. It was hard and a real struggle, but God is so faithful in that although I was grieving, by the time I was admitted to the hospital, he supernaturally gave me a peace about what was happening and even gave me a special sign that it was ok. I pray this for your friend that He will comfort her and all involved and give her Supernatural Peace that only comes from Him. I know there are a million resources out there, but I did have some real questions when this happened and a friend brought me a small, but great book(the kind you can read in a day) called, “I’ll Hold You In Heaven” by Jack Hayford that was real comforting at the time and answered a lot of things that were going through my mind. It is a book for anyone who has had miscarriage or lost a child. Luv U~ Mel

  4. This poem has helped me through so many trials in my life. I wanted to share it with you today. I will be in deep prayer for this dear family. I know that no human words will be able to comfort this family at this time. I pray God gives them a small portion of comfort at this time.

    It’s in the Valley we Grow

    Sometimes life seems hard to bear,
    Full of sorrow, trouble and woe
    It’s then we have to remember
    That it’s in the valleys we grow.

    If we always stayed on the mountain top
    And never experienced pain,
    We would never appreciate God’s love
    And would be living in vain.

    We have so much to learn
    And our growth is very slow,
    Sometimes we need the mountain tops,
    But it’s in the valleys we grow.

    We do not always understand
    Why things happen as they do,
    But I am very sure of one thing.
    My Lord will see me through.

    The little valleys are nothing
    When we picture Christ on the cross
    He went through the valley of death;
    His victory was Satan’s loss.

    Forgive me Lord, for complaining
    When I’m feeling so very low.
    Just give me a gentle reminder
    That it’s in the valleys I grow.

    Continue to strengthen me, Lord
    And use my life each day
    To share your love with others
    And help them find their way.

    Thank you for the valleys, Lord
    For this one thing I know
    The mountain tops are glorious
    But it’s in the valleys I grow!

    Have a blessed weekend!

  5. praying with you.

Leave a Reply

