Declutter…Day 071

The question is: How great would YOU feel if you removed one unused item from your home each day for a whole year? The declutter challenge.
Toss, Donate, or Sell one item from your home every single day for one year.
No rules.
No advice.

Day 071

Well, I am understanding why I have so much “stuff.” I am getting that guilty feeling — have I tried hard enough to GIVE these things away before dumping them? The trouble is that so many things COULD be useful to SOMEONE, but I just don’t have the time to find all of the appropriate connections. I hope that as people go through the dumpsters that someone might find some fun surprises!

Today they’ll discover some goodies specifically for the ladies…three gallon-sized ziploc bags full.

What did you dump today?

Comments

  1. I haven’t ‘officially’ started this whole deal, but I do get rid of stuff daily. August 1st I’ll start… do I really have 365 things to get rid of? Time will tell.

    PS. I’m getting a second cable connection for a month… they have the Tour de France on 3 times a day! Can I get a w00t?

  2. “I hope that as people go through the dumpsters that someone might find some fun surprises!”

    We had “help” when we were getting rid of stuff (before moving) in Kyiv. A friend took all the extra nicer kid clothes for orphans. “Useful” items I put next to, but not in, the dumpster. We saw the same people poking through the dumpster every day anyway, so I figured it would just make things easier for them.

    Here in the States we can use FreeCycle or Craig’s List. Though that does take a little effort still. . .

    I’m really shocked/surprised/disheartened at all the STUFF we have accumulated. Every time I read your blog and see what you’ve tossed, I’m tempted to join in the Declutter challenge.

  3. Anna: Could you HEAR the w00t?

    TulipGirl: We follow the same general plan on placing items on or around the dumpster, particularly if we want them FOUND! But, I admit, from time to time I just toss the items in the trash here at home and then it definitely requires some searching through at the dumpster. Join in the declutter challenge! No rules, remember, so do it however best suits you!

Leave a Reply

