Declutter…Day 057

The question is: How great would YOU feel if you removed one unused item from your home each day for a whole year? The declutter challenge.
Toss, Donate, or Sell one item from your home every single day for one year.
No rules.
No advice.


Day 057

It’s all in your perspective. Once upon a time I had a white polo shirt. It was well-worn and leaning towards gray. But I just couldn’t get rid of it. After all, it was one comfy shirt over a pair of jeans.

Well, today I threw the shirt into the dryer with a small load of darks — the shirt was dry, but all wrinkled and I wanted to fluff it up and then quickly fold it. It came out of the dryer all fluffy. But with spots and dark stains scattered across one shoulder and the collar. No way to wear it and hide those stains.

Rather than being upset that I was losing a favorite shirt, I found myself smiling…and thinking to myself…”Self, there’s your declutter item for the day!”

Sick, I know.

What did you dump today?

Comments

  1. “It’s all in your perspective”–Yes! Since I started dumping 1 thing a day, I’ve let go of quite a few items I thought I had to have, or would keep forever. And anything that gets spotted like your shirt, or breaks, is a sitting duck for that day’s tossout! Well played 🙂

  2. I subscribe to a website named “FreeCycle”, for us it’s freecycle-harford (for our county). Harford countians place items they wish to give away (no selling) or that they desire, and it’s first come, first served. I have been able to give away a LOT of things, but find myself with yet more in closets, sheds…it seems to never end! Arrrggghh! However, I’ve received quite useful things: 2 winter coats for Megan, glass patio table for the patio, perennials, herbs, etc. I believe freecycle may be nationwide (USA). It’s a great way to rid one’s house of needless “stuff”, and know that it’s going to someone who DOES need it! 🙂

  3. SAHMmy: You’re inspiring us all! Thanks for the encouragement.

    Terri: GREAT to hear from you. Recycling is a new concept here, in the official sense. But recycling DOES happen here anytime someone puts anything in or next to a dumpster! It will be quite awhile before it can be done ONLINE…not a place where everyone has a computer in their home!

Leave a Reply

