The pursuit of holiness

Our ministry team has just started to go through Jerry Bridge’s book entitled The Pursuit of Holiness. I look forward to getting to know the team better as I get to know myself better.

The author writes in the preface:

“The title for this book comes from the biblical command, ‘Pursue holiness, for without holiness no one will see the Lord’ (Hebrews 12:14, author’s paraphrase). The word pursue suggests two thoughts: first, that diligence and effort are required; and second, that it is a lifelong task. These two thoughts form a duel theme throughout this book. While seeking to set forth clearly and accurately God’s provision for our holiness, I have deliberately stressed our responsibility, feeling that this is an emphasis sorely needed among Christians today. At the same time I have sought to emphasize that holiness is a process, something we never completely attain in this life. Rather, as we begin to conform to the will of God in one area of life, He reveals to us our need in another area. That is why we will always be pursuing — as opposed to attaining — holiness in this life.”

I must say that I am quite thankful that God doesn’t show me every area of my life that needs attention all at once. And, though I know that I will never attain holiness in this life, that is no excuse to not be pursuing it!

Comments

  1. Went through that book with a group of ladies here. Convicting? Most definitely. I should probably re-read it. Although lately it seems my time is consumed reading books ABOUT the Bible instead of spending less of my time diving into the Bible itself. Need to get my priorities back in line. Praise God he doesn’t look at me in my rags but in Christ’s righteousness and slowly but surely helps me along in my pursuit of holiness. I’ll also second your thankfulness! I recently started a new book that seems to be ‘all the rage’ amongst folks my age. Only got through the first chapter so far but had to laugh out loud when I read the sentence that the author only started to sin at the age of 10! I think I’m beginning to see the reason his books are so popular with people who don’t think for themselves or worse yet, don’t even know how to think and separate facts from fiction!

    I’m going to stop now.

  2. Love Jerry Bridges’ writing! Enjoy!

  3. Anna: I am thankful that you have definitely learned to think for yourself! You know I’m now dying to know what book you’re reading…send me a quick email, if you don’t want to blast it online! And, I agree, reading the Bible is so much better than reading ABOUT it, but they can work very well hand-in-hand.

    Connie: We love his writings, too. Preach the gospel to yourself every day. What a concept! (How is your studying coming along?)

  4. Hi

    I want to be getting more information about honliness from you. Thank you very much.

  5. i want to kwow more about loving Jesus christ.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

